Miss V S Smit

Co-owner, Proprietor and responsible for the overall vision and strategy of the School. Director responsible for Safeguarding

Responsible for the effective day to day running of the School.

Vicky has worked at Hurst Lodge for the last 28 years. She has been Principal of Hurst Lodge School since 1999, and is an Executive Director of the Independent Schools Association, keeping her involved in local and national trends, and sector developments. Vicky is also the National Chair of Arts for the Independent Schools Association

She has overseen the schools change to fully co-educational at Hurst Lodge and was delighted when the school received the accolade of ‘Green School of the Year’ in 2015-2016.

The April 2017 Independent Schools Inspectorate said ‘Hurst Lodge School is highly successful in meeting its ambitious aims’, and rates the school as ‘Excellent’ in many areas.

Sir T B Smit KBE (Chairman)

Co-owner and passionate about the educational and vocational direction of the School.

Founder of the Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project, he is Executive Vice-Chair of the Eden Project, and Executive Chairman of Eden Project International.

Tim is a Trustee, Patron and Board Member of several statutory and voluntary bodies, and has been widely recognised for his entrepreneurial leadership.

(Contact email:

David Harland

David is the CEO of Eden Project International Ltd and a Director of Eden Project Ltd. Having originally joined the Eden Project in 2013 as Finance Director, David has wide experience in the Private Sector (Healthcare) and more recently in the Public Sector as a Non-Executive in the NHS.

Gareth Jones (Chief Operating Officer)

Director with responsibility for transition and the operational functions of the school.

Gareth has been in place since October 2017 as the Project Director for the integration of Hurst Lodge and Hawley Place. He has previously led substantial transformational projects in the public sector (NHS) and the private sector (Renault-Nissan), as well as running his own business.



Miss V S Smit


Leadership Team

Mrs S Kalsi – Deputy Head (Academic)

Mrs J Norman – Interim Deputy Head (Pastoral)

Mrs J Alan – Head of Pre Prep

Mrs H Kenna – Head of Junior School

Mrs N Foster – Inclusion Manager

Mrs P Moorby – Bursar

Quick Contact

Please fill in this form. We will contact you shortly.


©2019 HawleyHurst

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?